Safety-by-Design Award Criteria

The nominee is an individual who is or has been working, for a large part of his career, full time in the design of space systems and/or in design safety certification. He has shown outstanding support and dedication to space safety, and achieved national and/or international recognition. The award may be assigned to an individual or to a group of individuals who have been closely co-operating.The nominee shall meet at least two of the following five criteria:

  1. Documented professional involvement in space systems design and/or design safety certification for at least 15 years;
  2.  Inventor or designer who through one or more outstanding patent or conceptual design innovation contributed to make space systems (including related equipment or payloads) safer;
  3. Significant participation to the development of design solutions which have proven to possess a higher degree of safety;
  4. Significant participation to the development of safety technical requirements, and/or  safety reviews organisation and methods, which have been proven effective in ensuring  a high degree of safety;
  5. Author of books, papers and/or articles who promoted novel concepts and ideas which greatly contributed to advance the understanding and implementation of safety-by-design;
  6. Inspiring leader in promoting safety related education and/or international cooperation.

"Of the major incentives to improve safety, by far the most compelling is that of economics. The moral incentive, which is most evident following an accident, is more intense but is relatively short lived".
Jerome Lederer

Safety-by-Design Award
Nomination Procedure
Nomination Form
Hall of Fame
Award Commitee Chairman